HOME / Memorial scholarships awardees announced

Memorial scholarships awardees announced

Jan. 13, 2021

IMG 2101 memorial scholarship winners 2

The Australian Healthcare and Hospitals Association (AHHA) recently announced the award of the 2021 Jeff Cheverton Memorial Scholarship.

The scholarship was awarded to Michelle Tran from the University of Queensland for her timely research into the opportunities and challenges of telehealth in Australia and Dr Miia Rajha from Flinders University, who is researching reablement programs for people with dementia.

The Jeff Cheverton Memorial Scholarship was established in 2017 by AHHA, together with North Western Melbourne PHN and Brisbane North PHN, to honour the memory of Jeff Cheverton (1968-2017), who demonstrated excellence in health leadership.

The Jeff Cheverton scholarship supports high achieving medical students, PhD candidates and early career researchers to specifically develop a health policy issues brief on a topic relevant to primary health, mental health, aged care, Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander health, or LGBTQI health.

Working alongside staff at AHHA, scholarship recipients are supported to establish connections with policymakers and practitioners working in their field of research, and to produce a Health Policy Issues Brief that engages health policy leaders in an area of national health policy significance.

The Jeff Cheverton Memorial Scholarship also offers the opportunity to participate in the broader work of the Deeble Institute for Health Policy Institute and the AHHA.

For more information about the Deeble Institute Scholarship program, including the Jeff Cheverton Memorial Scholarships visit the AHHA website.

Pictured above: Dr Miia Rajha

Related news